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Active View Avg. CPM

Active View Avg. CPM (vCPM)



*Campaigns using CPM bidding work differently to almost all other bidding types, as such they have their own metrics. These can only be used on the Display Network and is typically used with CPM bidding. The hosting website has to have enabled ‘Active View’ for your ads to collate this data.

Active View Avg. CPM (vCPM)

Quick Description = The average cost per 1,000 viewable impressions

Calculation: Cost / (viewable impressions / 1,000)

Referred to as = Active View Avg. CPM

This is a valuable metric for Display campaigns using measurable viewable impressions as the bidding method. The Avg. vCPM metric represents the average cost per 1,000 viewable impressions and applies only to campaigns using the vCPM bidding method.

Measurable Viewable Impressions & vCPM Bidding

Viewable CPM (vCPM) bidding differs from CPM bidding because you are only charged for an impression if it qualifies as measurable viewable. This makes vCPM a more attractive bidding method than CPM for businesses that are trying to gain more impressions. A measureable viewable impression has to meet the following criteria to qualify for billing through this billing method:

  • 50% or more of the ad is visible on the screen
  • Display ads have to appear for at least 1 second
  • Video ads have to appear for at least 2 seconds

This bidding method means that your ads are more likely to have been seen by potential customers and prevents billing for ads that were less likely to have been seen

Calculating Average CPM (Cost Per Thousand Impressions)

This metric, again, provides insights into the performance of ads based on ‘viewable impressions’, for example; if you paid $1,000 for your impressions and you received 500,000 impressions we would calculate the Active View Avg. CPM like this:

$1,000 / (500,000 / 1,000) = $1,000 / 500 = $2

This metric is represented by a currency value, depending on what currency is used by the account.

vCPM Bidding

As well as seeing the average vCPM, as discussed above, you can use vCPM as a bidding method when you choose this in the campaign settings.

The image below shows where you can set this within the campaign settings, you can then apply bids throughout the campaign and targeting option components:

  Viewable CPM

Related Information

If you found this guide on Average Cost per 1,000 Measurable Viewable Impressions useful, you may also like our other guides on metrics within the Active View metrics suite:

  • Active View Viewable Impressions
  • Active View Viewable CTR
  • Active View Viewable Impressions / Measurable Impressions
  • Active View Viewable Measurable Cost
  • Active View Viewable Measurable Impressions / Impressions

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