Click Assisted Conversions
- Click Assisted Conversions
- How Click Assisted Conversions Work
- Adjusting for Assisted Conversions
- How Does This Effect CPC?
- Ratio of Click Assisted to Actual Conversions
- Cost per Click Assisted Conversion
- More Information
*A conversion is when a user performs a desired action (being tracked) on your website. This could be buying a product, downloading a file, clicking a link or any other desired action. Typically conversions are linked either directly or indirectly to revenue.
*Attribution is the process of attributing value to touch points or stages of the user’s path to conversion.
Quick Description = The no. of conversions for which an account component (keyword, campaign, etc) provided a Click/s at some point in the user’s journey to conversion
Referred to as = Click assisted conv.
A user may click several of your ads making multiple visits to your website before converting; this metric counts the times when this occurred for each campaign, ad group, keyword ad, placement, etc.
A good example of how Click Assisted Conversions work would be; imagine a business providing mortgages, who target a range of cheap long tail keywords that are addressing the questions a person has when in initial to mid-stages of research.
These keywords may provide the first ever contact a user has had with this brand, although they will not convert directly from these keywords, they may later come back and convert after searching for the brand directly.
Attributing all of the value to the branded term that resulted in a conversion ignores the journey the user has taken to convert. Pausing or removing keywords that do not convert but have high volumes of assisted conversions could break the conversion funnel and result in lost conversions.
This is one of the more valuable attribution metrics, and number between zero and infinity represents this metric.
PPC Hero did a fantastic post on this topic, which you can read by following the link. In this article they describe, based on some information from Google, how to adjust CPA (Cost Per Acquisition) with assisted conversion data.
Lets assume a basic CPA of $20 based on $200 spend and 10 conversions ($200 / 10 = $20 CPA).
Lets assume we have the following assisted conversions:
- 7 Click Assisted
- 4 Impression Assisted
In this next section the values we use are based on what Google have said but these values really should be tailored to your business. You can try varying the values and testing to see what works for you.
- We are going to use a value of 20% (0.2) for Click Assisted Conversions, which means we believe that we are valuing a Click Assisted Conversion at 20% the value of a conversion.
- We are going to use a value of 5% (0.05) for Impression Assisted Conversions, which means we believe that we are valuing an Impression Assisted Conversion at 5% the value of a conversion.
So when we apply this, we get the following values:
7 x 0.2 = 1.4
4 x 0.05 = 0.2
Now we add these figures together along with the number of conversions (10):
10 + 1.4 + 0.2 = 11.6
So, in order to translate this into adjusted CPA we simply divide the cost ($200) by this new value (21.6):
$200 / 11.6 = $17.24 (Adjusted) CPA
Now we have an original CPA of $20 and a new CPA of $17.24, meaning that we have created $2.76 of wiggle room for our CPA target or 13.79% ($2.76 / $20). We can translate this into higher CPC’s by multiplying CPC’s by 1.1379 (to break even).
If you apply this formula to your account and adjust CPCs accordingly you should see an increase in conversions while actual CPA stays at or below the target. If you see an increase in CPA but not conversions, then this has not worked.
The variables are the 0.2 and 0.05 values; try tweaking these to get the desired results. An alternative is to use a mathematical model to generate these values; we cover this in more detail in our guide on Click Assisted Conversion Value.
This ratio is not a metric you can see within AdWords so you will have to export data into Excel and calculate this for yourself. We can do this simply by dividing the click-assisted conversions by the total number of conversions:
Click-assisted conversions / Total number of conversions
So if we had 100 conversions and 50 click-assisted conversions, we would have a ratio of:
50 / 100 = 0.5 = 50%
Which means that 50% of our conversions were assisted by clicks of other ads, so in this example we can confidently say that the assisted conversions are making a material difference to the volume of conversions.
If you had a low rate like 10% or less, then we could assume a shorter path to conversion and would attribute less value to keywords and ads that assist.
Again this is not an AdWords metric but one that you can calculate by dividing the cost by the click-assisted conversions to get an idea of how much these cost. For example, if we have a campaign with a cost of $200 and 50 click-assisted conversions, we would have a cost per click-assisted conversion of:
$200 / 50 = $4 per click-assisted conversion
Using this and conversion values, we can assess the profitability of click-assisted conversions.
‘Click Assisted Conversions’ is a single metric that makes up a suite of metrics relating to attribution. However, attribution is in itself a sub-component of both SEO and SEM and is also used across all of marketing (not just digital). Digital marketing is unique in that its attribution models are rich with data and far exceed offline marketing in their ability to provide precise insights into performance.
The image below is a simplification of a journey to conversions, this represents a user seeing and clicking multiple ads over a period of time. They can use multiple devices; see ads on Search, Shopping and Display networks and finally converting by buying products.
If we removed one of those ads or devices, the user may never convert on our site, they will probably still convert but elsewhere. Hence, if we look at only the last ad that converted, we miss the wider story. Attribution models look to disseminate value across the user journey in a number of different ways.
We cover these methodologies in more detail in a guide to attribution.
If you liked this guide on Click Assisted Conversions, you may also be interested in the following guides related to this subject:
- ROAS (Return on Ad Spend)
- ROI (Return on Investment)
- Converted Clicks
- All Conversions
- Converted Click Rate
- Conversion Tracking
- Conversion Rate
- Cross Device Conversions
- Cost Per Converted Click
- Avg. CPC (Cost Per Click)
- Revenue Per Conversion
- Conversion Optimiser