Click Conversions Rate (Now Obsolete)
*A conversion is when a user performs a desired action (being tracked) on your website. This could be buying a product, downloading a file, clicking a link or any other desired action. Typically, conversions are linked either directly or indirectly to revenue.
*Conversion tracking needs to be setup to see conversion data in AdWords.
Quick Description = Converted Clicks as a percentage of all Clicks
Calculation: Converted Clicks / Clicks
Referred to as = Click Conversion Rate
This conversion rate includes only converted clicks rather than ‘conversions’ or ‘all conversions’. Represented by a percentage (%) this shows you the percentage of Clicks that converted as a ratio to the total number of Clicks.
Converted Clicks are not always the best metric for some businesses; typically lead generation sites will not use this metric. Where it is important or relevant to count all conversions rather than just the converted clicks, this metric may not be useful.
The Click Conversion Rate is a simple to calculate metric that divides the number of converted clicks by the total number of clicks. For example if you had campaign with 100 Converted Clicks and the campaign also had a total of 1,000 Clicks, you conversion rate would be:
100 / 1,000 = 0.1 = 10% Click Conversion Rate
Below we have listed some important features, behaviour, and information on Conversion rates below:
- It is not possible to have a click conversion rate over 100%
- Click conversion rates require conversions to be recorded in AdWords, consequently tracking code will need to be implemented to see this metric
- Click conversion rate is calculated using ‘click conversions’ (not ‘conversions’)
Click Conversion Rates, although calculated the same irrespective of the network on which they occurred, often vary significantly between networks. Click Conversion Rates also vary between devices and as such aggregating click conversion rates can reduce the value of the metric.
The same is true for analysing Click Conversion Rates across campaigns and ad groups, the rate will vary significantly, consequently analysing conversion rates of any kind should be done at a more granular level in order to derive insights.
If you liked this guide on conversions, you may also be interested in the following guides related to this subject:
- All Conversions
- Converted Click Rate
- Conversion Tracking
- Conversion Rate
- Cross Device Conversions
- Cost Per Converted Click
- Avg. CPC (Cost Per Click)
- Revenue Per Conversion
- CPA (Cost Per Acquisition)
- Conversion Optimiser